A Guide to Understanding Valorant Ranks
4 min read

A Guide to Understanding Valorant Ranks

Discover Valorant's ranking system, MMR, seasons, rewards, and matchmaking rules in this comprehensive guide.

Understanding Valorant Ranks

Ranking Tiers

Valorant features a unique ranking system consisting of 7 main tiers, each containing 3 sub-ranks. The only exception is the highest tier, Radiant, which stands alone at the pinnacle of the ranking hierarchy.









How Rank is Determined

Your Valorant rank is determined by your performance in competitive matches. You'll need to complete 5 placement matches to receive your initial rank, which is based on your individual performance, match wins, and losses. After receiving your rank, it can increase or decrease as you play more competitive games. Valorant's ranking system takes into account both your individual skill and your team's performance.

Seasonal Changes: Acts and Episodes

Valorant has a seasonal ranking system divided into "Acts" and "Episodes." Each Act lasts for about two months, and three Acts make up one Episode, which spans approximately six months. At the end of an Act, your rank partially resets, and you'll need to play one placement match to receive your new rank for the next Act.

Your MMR will not be drastically affected by the Act reset, so you'll likely be placed near your previous rank. It's important to perform well in this placement match to ensure you're placed as close to your previous rank as possible. The introduction of new Acts and Episodes also brings updates to the game, such as new agents, maps, and balance changes, which can affect the competitive landscape.

Matchmaking Rating (MMR)

MMR stands for Matchmaking Rating. It is a hidden numerical value that represents a player's skill level in competitive online games, including Valorant. MMR is used by the game's matchmaking system to create balanced matches, pairing players with and against others of similar skill levels.

MMR Calculation

MMR is not publicly visible in Valorant, your rank serves as a rough indication of your skill level and MMR. As you win games and perform well, your MMR increases, resulting in higher Rank Rating (RR) gains and potentially ranking up. Conversely, losing games and underperforming may lower your MMR, leading to reduced RR gains or even rank demotion. While your MMR is not explicitly tied to your visible rank, It's important to note that MMR is more sensitive to individual performance, while rank focuses more on match wins and losses.

Ranked rewards

Valorant offers players various ranked rewards to showcase their accomplishments and hard work throughout each Act. These rewards serve as a way to celebrate your progress and commitment to the competitive scene. Here's an overview of the ranked rewards you can earn in Valorant:

Act Rank Badge

At the end of each Act, players receive an Act Rank Badge based on their performance during the season. This badge displays your highest Rank Rating (RR) achieved and the number of ranked wins at that rank. The Act Rank Badge is visible to other players on your player card during the subsequent Act, showcasing your achievements.

Gun Buddies

Valorant also rewards players with exclusive gun buddies for participating in ranked matches during an Act. These gun buddies are unique to each Act and can be equipped on your weapons as a reminder of your hard work and dedication.

Common Valorant Rank Questions

When I can play Ranked?

Ranked mode becomes available once you reach account level 20. To achieve this, play unrated games to gain experience points and familiarize yourself with the game mechanics, maps, and agents. This preparation will help you perform better in your placement matches and receive a higher initial rank.

Which ranks you can duo with?

When duo queuing in Valorant, you must partner with someone whose rank is within three tiers of your own. Here's a simplified overview:

Iron, Bronze, and Silver players can duo with players up to three tiers above or below their rank.

Gold and Platinum players can duo with players three tiers above or below, but only up to Diamond 1.

Diamond players can duo with players three tiers above or below, limited to Diamond 1 and Immortal 1.

Immortal players can duo with players three tiers above or below, including Radiant players.

Radiant players can duo with Immortal 2, Immortal 3, and Radiant players.

These restrictions help ensure a fair and balanced competitive experience for all players.

Is Four-Stacks No Longer Permitted?

Due to the changes made to accommodate five-stack teams, four-stacks are no longer allowed in Valorant's ranked mode. This decision was made to tackle toxicity towards solo queue players and ensure a more balanced and enjoyable experience for everyone.

How does Five-Stacking works?

If your group has a rank difference greater than three divisions, be prepared for the following:

Long queue times: The matchmaking system will attempt to find another five-stack with a similar average MMR, which can result in longer wait times.

25% RR reduction: When playing in a five-stack with rank differences greater than three divisions, your RR gains and losses will be reduced by 25%.

For individuals who's seeking coaching or boosting services, please check the links below!

Coaching | Elo Boosting | Duo Boosting | Win Boosting | Placement Matches